A Record Six Rockets Advance To National BPA

Fourteen students from Underwood participated in the annual Minnesota Business Professionals of America (BPA) State Leadership Conference in Minneapolis, MN, March 8-10.
After qualifying earlier this year, regional winners put their talents to the test during the State Leadership Conference. Students receiving state awards and advancing to nationals include:
Theo Johnson – Digital Media Production – 3rd AND Presentation Management Individual – 3rd
Camen Andrews – Banking and Finance – 4th AND Personal Financial Management – 8th
Kindra Peterson – Extemporaneous Speech – 1st
Emma Fitzgibbons – Medical Office Procedures – 3rd
Jace Leabo – Economic Research Individual – 5th
Jace Leabo and Cierra Kugler – Presentation Management Team – 2nd
This May, Jace, Cierra, Emma, Kindra, Camen and Theo will travel to Dallas, TX to compete with 5,500 top students from across the United States at the 51st Annual National Leadership Conference – the pinnacle of BPA competition.
Also recognized for placing in the top 10 in the state in their respective contests were:
Kindra Peterson, Emma Fitzgibbons, and Isabel Dahl – Economic Research Team – 4th
James Thompson – Administrative Support Research Project – 5th
James Thompson – Economic Research Individual – 10th
Sara Hansen and Beka Nokes – Broadcast News Production – 8th
Also recognized for earning State Torch Awards (showing leadership, service, cooperation, knowledge, patriotism, and friendship) were Kindra Peterson and Emma Fitzgibbons.